Under the BIG TOP

Thanks to a very talented blogger, The Nester, I tackled a new home project…window mistreatments!!!

Our windows in the front room have been bare for 2 reasons:

1. Nice fabric is sooooo expensive.
2. The window wall has a little curve to it, but they are not quite bay windows, so what to do about a rod? Custom made? $$$ No way!

Here is our solution {Nester Style}

img_0122

Just pretend that the lighting is amazing
and you can see the bare windows.
My batteries were dying,
and the flash wouldn't work,
and I was too anxious to get the picture to change the batteries!

Okay, now here is a better look at what is going on in this dungeon of a room:

I {aka: El Cheapo} used drapery hooks on upholstery tacks to hang my $1 a yard fabric from Wal-Mart.  And a big thank you to my amazing husband for actually measuring the tacks for me! img_0126

Here is a shot of the finished project.

It is very cozy but I’m not sure if it is too circus tentish, ya know the stripes and all?  What do ya think?

img_0128

And now for the finishing touch, which I think makes it truly POP…Stars!!!

img_0130

I think we are gonna like it this way for a while.

♥Dark and Cozy♥

At least as long as it’s snowing

and below freezing in my neck of the woods!

I hate to brag but…there was NO sewing involved in this window mistreatment!   :mrgreen:

Run to The Nester to find out how you can do this too!!

EDIT:  Shoot!  Pictures don’t do these windows justice!  Come on over and check them out yourself.  They look much better in person!

7 Comments

Filed under Home Decor

7 responses to “Under the BIG TOP

  1. Beautiful. I so wish I could check them out in person. 🙂

  2. Papaw

    It looks great.

    mom

  3. mamastoff

    Amazing with the stars!!!! Perfect finishing touch! Nice work!

  4. Aunt Susan

    I love it. The stars add a Texas feel to it. 😉

  5. rfox14

    I am impressed girl!!! I can’t wait to check them out next week. It looks AWESOME! Are you telling the truth about the “no sewing”??? 🙂

  6. I love it…it’s super cute!!! and I’m not thinking circus at all…on the brink of folkart meets cottage…cute either way 😉 Blessings!

  7. P.S. and Aunt Susan is right…there are stars bloody everywhere down here in Texas!!!

Leave a Reply

